Public Works
Contact TypeContact Information
,  Director of Public Works
, Administrative Aide
, Administrative Secretary III
, Administrative Clerk III
Public Works Administration,  61 Ecology Drive 
East Hartford ,CT 06108 
(860) 291-7361, (860) 291-7363
Mailing Address
740 Main St.
Directions to Public Works Administration
Seventh right off Burnside Avenue coming from Main Street. At the second Stop Sign, take a right into the lower yard, blue office building
Office: 7:30AM - 2:50PM

Transfer Station: M,T,F 7:15-2:45PM
Closed for lunch 11:45-12:30PM
Open 1st and 3rd Saturday each month

Link to PageLink to Page
Additional Links:
Link to PageLink to PageLink to Page
Town Engineer
(860) 291-7384
Facilities Manager
(860) 291-7362
Highway Services Manager
(860) 291-7367
Waste Services Manager
(860) 291-7336
Fleet Services Manager
(860) 291-7379
Other Service Numbers
Secondary #
Seasonal Info Line
(860) 291-7374
(860) 291-7371
Collection Schedule
(860) 291-7363
Transfer Station Hours
(860) 291-7363
Bulky Waste Collection
(860) 291-7337
Street Sweeping
(860) 291-7371
Pavement Repairs
(860) 291-7371
Road Kill
(860) 291-7371
Cemetery Information
(860) 291-7361
Other Numbers
Name of Organization
Phone Number
Metropolitan District Commission
The East Hartford Department of Public Works employs 69 full-time people utilizing 220 vehicles of various types. The Department is responsible for five separate divisions: Engineering, Fleet Services, Waste Services, Highway Services, and Building Maintenance.

The Engineering Division reviews technical design plans, surveys for design and construction, inspects utility, subdivision and municipal construction projects, engineers and drafts the designs of various complex municipal improvement projects.

The Highway Services Division provides for the maintenance of 146.3 miles of Town roads, flood dikes, bridges, cemeteries, pavement markings, street lights and traffic signs. This division's responsibilities also include snow removal and eviction pickups.

The Waste Services Division is responsible for collection of 26,000 tons of rubbish annually as well as operation of the Town transfer station.

The Facilities Management Division provides daily maintenance and continuous monitoring to 22 public buildings.

The Fleet Services Division is charged with maintaining 340 Town vehicles and other related equipment.